In his fascinating book on the Men and Names of Old Birmingham (1864), Toulmin Smith revealed that in its last years of existence the Gild "being musical, had an organist, William Bothe", who had "a handsome salary.
Furthermore a Thomas Groves was keeper of the Gild House, or Town Hall as it was called, and its gardens - for which service he lived rent free in two of the Guild's cottages.
Still the Gild of the Holy Cross itself was a wide-ranging body, a kind of a trust that was funded by wealthy folk and which became vital as much for the physical wellbeing of Birmingham's people as for their souls.
Thirty Lavenham testators, fourteen of whom were known to be clothiers, left gifts to the four gilds between 1416 and 1540.
The plates, cups and other utensils owned by gilds bear witness to the feasts and communal merrymaking which occasionally shook the hall's great timbers.
Other than by occasional gifts and legacies, gilds were financed in several ways.
John Colleshull, John Goldsmyth, and William atte Slowe were allowed to assign to the proposed Gild eighteen messuages, three tofts (houses), six acres of land and 40 shillings of rents, in Birmingham and Edgbaston.
The Borough of Birmingham paid pounds 50 for the licence, and the Gild of the Holy Cross then built its hall - with its clock and chimes - at the bottom end of New Street, where the Odeon now stands and where King Edward's School used to be.
In his fascinating book on the Men and Names of Old Birmingham (1864), Toulmin Smith revealed that the Gild "being musical, had an organist, William Bothe", who had "a handsome salary.